pet peeve: something about which one frequently complains; a particular personal vexation
(The following is satire. This is meant for humor only.)
On my way to the grocery store to get diapers and food and such
just listening to the radio, trying to stay in touch
I'm going along at a fine rate of speed, minding my own 4 wheels
when suddenly something happens that makes me have feelings I don't like to feel
Anxiety, angst and annoyance fill my body and my mind starts to race
"who is that in the left hand lane keeping up this snail-like pace?"
"Are you passing someone?", I say, knowing very well that's not their style
"Maybe you're getting ready to turn?" "But you've been in that lane for quite a while"
"C'mon people, bless your heart. The right lanes meant for traveling."
I can feel my sweet sense of relaxation speedily unraveling
If I could just get by them somehow then this blip in my life would be past
but its not meant to be, for crying out loud, they just will not go fast
The car in the right lane is doing well, exactly what the right lane is for
slower traffic must keep right, the left lane is meant for us to soar
When the car in the left lane though, is going the same speed as the car in the right
you may as well just grip the wheel, you'll get where you're going sometime late tonight
I'm not a perfect driver, nor have I ever made that claim
I just know that the rules clearly state how drivers are to use both left and right lanes
I'm not losing my salvation. I handle this all pretty well I think
but I just cant get used to people whose driving skills, to me, simply stink
This one is easy and I'll ask this favor only one time
the next time you're in your car, please think of mine.
When you're in the left lane and you see a bald guy in your mirror
Try looking closer and see if the face doesn't start to become clearer
Its probably me wondering "who in the world is taking away my relaxing trip?"
I'll just grab the wheel though, and keep on driving and really try to bite my lip
I love you all no matter what lane you drive in. ; )
LW